POWER OF THE TONGUE (PART II)

The Power of the Tongue (Part II)
(Prov 15:4)Kind words heal and help; cutting words wound and maim.
We have all heard the children cliché, “sticks and stones may break by bones, but words will never hurt me.” It may have worked on the playground, but it does not work in real
life. Words not only hurt us, but can also crush others. Jeremiah said, (Jer 29:11 GNB) I alone know the plans I have for you, plans to bring you prosperity and
not disaster, plans to bring about the future you hope for. David thought about God’s plans for him and said, (Ps 139:17 KJV)How precious also are thy thoughts unto me, O God! how great is the sum of them! Jeremiah and David help us understand the greatness of God’s plans and thoughts
for us and towards us. Many of us can remember our childhood plans and
dreams. Many a child dreams of becoming a lawyer, doctor, business
owner, successful athlete, minister or etc. Many of these dreams and
aspirations, however, are destroyed by parents and others with their
cutting words. 
Many grow up in one of the worst neighbourhoods, surrounded by violence,
drugs, and death. They dream of becoming “successful” in life. Many of
them don’t succeed. What was the difference?  I believe it is because I
had a praying mother in whom I always saw “hope.” She told me that I
could be whatever I wanted to be and do whatever I wanted to do, but
that it would take hard work and honesty. She taught me about integrity
and dignity. She was and is a woman that is revered. She did not let our surroundings disqualify us from our destiny. I am enjoying prosperity
in Christ. I may have had to endure words that wounded and maimed on the streets, but we were always comforted when we came home to words that
healed and helped. 
So what does this mean to you today?  Two things: 
1.       For Your Life: Maybe you experienced words that wounded and maimed. Maybe you have allowed
your dreams and aspirations to die. Maybe you have allowed your
surroundings to seemingly disqualify you from your destiny. If that is
you this morning, the good news is that you are still alive. The fact
that you are still breathing and blood is still flowing in your veins is evidence that God is not through with you. Jeremiah and David teach us
this morning of God’s plans and thoughts towards us. Agree with God’s
plans.  Confess God’s Word.  Receive God’s opinion of you and you will
see hopeless situations turn around in your life.
2.       For the Lives of others: I pray you have learned from our text never to use cutting words that
wound and maim with our spouses, our children, our friends, or anyone
for that matter. Words are powerful. You have power in your tongue. How
will you use that power today?
Confession for this day: Lord God. The power of death and life are in my tongue. You have given me
the power to heal and help or to wound and maim. I choose to use my
tongue to help and to promote your kingdom, today and everyday. I make a commitment to get past my past and I agree with Your plans and Your
thoughts for my life. I am Your Righteousness on the earth. I am the
head and not the tail. I am above only and not beneath. I am prosperous, because You make me prosperous. I am a blessing to others, because You
have given me the power to speak life into their lives. Use me this day
for Your service.
I choose to heal and to help with my tongue!
In Jesus’ name.
  Amen!

Leave a Reply

