POWER OF TONGUE (PART 1) By: Sabastian D’ouza

The Power of the Tongue
(Prov18:21)
 Words kill, words give
life; they’re either poison or fruit–you choose.
One name of God is Elohim (The Creator God). God looked at darkness and simply
said, “Let there be Light” and there was light. He looked at the waters
and said, “Let dry land appear” and it was so. God looked at the bare land
and said, “Let the earth bring forth grass, the herb yielding seed” and it was
so. Later on God created man in His image and Adam began to do what God
did. Adam did in the earth what God did for the earth. Adam looked at
a big animal and named it elephant and it is still called elephant
today. He looked at a strange animal and called it giraffe and it is still
called giraffe today. He named all the animals. Whatever he called
them, they became. He then realized that everything had a mate except for
him. God caused him to sleep and took a rib from Adam and made Eve from
it. He brought her to him and he said, “This is now bone of my bones, and
flesh of my flesh: she shall be called Woman, because she was taken out of
Man.” And we still call females “Woman” today because of what he said.
So what does this mean to
you today? We,
like Adam, have creative ability in our tongue. Our text tells us that words
can either kill or give life, they can either be poison or
fruit — the choice is ours. When we think about God and how He
used words to frame the world that is seen from the unseen and how Adam named
the unnamed and the names remain today; we can see the power of the
tongue. God wants us to speak life and not death, light and not
darkness. The best thing we can ever do for our lives, families, children,
finances, etc. is to speak the Word of God over them. When we confess
God’s word over our lives, we are expressing to God that we agree with His
opinion of us and not the world’s. We must be careful whose opinion we
agree with and what we say; especially over our children. Have you ever
heard a parent say to their children:
* “You will never amount to anything!”
* “You are stupid!”
* “You ain’t never been nothing and will never be anything!”
Or
what about a husband or wife says to their spouse:
* “I hate you!’
* “I don’t know why I married you!”
* “I can’t wait to get a divorce!”
And
the list can go on. Just like God and Adam, we will have what we
say. If we speak death, we will receive death. If we speak life, we
will enjoy God’s blessings. Are you ready to allow God to turn your life
around? Then change your vocabulary and agree with God’s opinion of you!
Confession for this day: Lord God. The
power of death and life are in my tongue. You have given me creative
ability. Just as you looked at darkness and saw light, I look at every
dark situation in my life and see what You would have me to see.  I speak
what you would have me to speak. I declare what you would have me to
declare. I can have what you say I can have.  I can do what you say I
can do. I am not a failure, I am a success; because You make me successful in
everything I put my hands to do. My family is blessed, my children are
blessed, my career is blessed, my body is healthy, my mind is at rest, and I am
ready for this day; because You have made me ready! Lord, Be it unto me,
according to Your Word! 
I choose to speak life and not death!In
Jesus’ name.
  Amen!

Leave a Reply

