STICK AND STONE By:IMAOLANEWS

Sticks and Stones 
(Prov15:4)
Kind words heal and help; cutting words wound and maim.
We have all heard the childhood cliché, “Sticks and stones may
break my bones, but words will never hurt me.” It may have worked on
the playground, but it does not work in real life. Words not only hurt,
but they have the power to literally derail us, if we allow them
to. Jeremiah said, “I alone know the plans I have for you, plans to
bring you prosperity and not disaster, plans to bring about the future you hope
for” (29:11 GNB). David thought about God’s plans for his life and
said, “How precious also are thy thoughts unto me, O God! How great is the
sum of them!” (Ps 139:17). Jeremiah and David help us understand the
greatness of God’s plans and thoughts for us and towards us. Many of us
can remember our childhood plans and dreams. Many children dream of
becoming a lawyer, doctor, business owner, successful athlete, minister or
etc. However, countless dreams and aspirations have been destroyed by the
cutting words of parents or others. 
So what
does this mean to you today?  Two things: 
1.  Think about you: Maybe
you experienced words that wounded and maimed. Maybe you have allowed your
dreams and aspirations to die. Maybe you have allowed your surroundings to
seemingly disqualify you from your destiny. If that is you this morning,
the good news is that you are still alive. The fact that you are still
breathing and blood is still flowing in your veins is evidence that God is not
through with you. Jeremiah and David teach us this morning of God’s plans
and thoughts towards us. Agree with God’s plans. Confess God’s Word.
Receive God’s opinion of you and you will see hopeless situations turn around
in your life.
2.  Think about others: I pray
you have learned from our text never to use cutting words that wound and maim
with your spouse, children, friends, or anyone for that matter. Words are
powerful. You have power in your tongue. How will you use that power
today?
Confession
for this day: Lord
God. The power of death and life are in my tongue.  You have given me
the power to heal and help or wound and maim. I choose to use my tongue to
help and to be a blessing.  I build up and never tear down. I agree
with Your plans and Your thoughts for my life. Your words trump ever negative
word spoken over me. I am redeemed from every negative word!  Forward
ever, backward never. 
 In
Jesus’ name.
  Amen!

Leave a Reply

