Lining Your Word with Your Belief. By:IMAOLANEWS

Lining up your Word with your Belief
(Gen 11:6 NIV)
 The Lord said, “If as one people speaking the same language
they have begun to do this, then nothing they plan to do will be
impossible for them.”
Our journey towards learning and untapping the power of the tongue takes us to Genesis chapter 11 this morning. In this chapter we find the
building of the infamous Tower of Babel. The Bible says, “Now the whole world had one language and a common speech. As men moved
eastward, they found a plain in Shinar and settled there. They said to
each other, “Come, let’s make bricks and bake them thoroughly.” They
used brick instead of stone, and tar for mortar. Then they said, “Come,
let us build ourselves a city, with a tower that reaches to the heavens, so that we may make a name for ourselves and not be scattered over the
face of the whole earth” (verses 1-4). We can see that their
motivation was not to bring glory to God. They were doing this for
selfish reasons – pride, fame, etc. – and we will see that God
intervened. The Bible goes on to say, “But the Lord came down to see the city and the tower that the men were
building. The Lord said, “If as one people speaking the same language
they have begun to do this, then nothing they plan to do will be
impossible for them. Come, let us go down and confuse their language so
they will not understand each other.”  So the Lord scattered them from
there over all the earth, and they stopped building the city” (verses 5-8). 
The point I want to focus in on this morning is that fact that God said
that nothing would be impossible for them, because they were speaking
the same language and the people were one. There was a level of consistency among them. They believed the same thing, they spoke the same thing, and they never contradicted each other; because of it God said nothing was impossible for them. There is tremendous power that is available to us in the Body of
Christ. Jesus said that we would do even greater works than what He did
(John 14:12). The reason most people don’t experience the power of God
manifested in their lives is because of contradictions. They say one
thing in the morning in prayer, but then speak against it all day
long. For example: some pray to God in the morning for physical healing
and health, but they then go throughout the day saying things like, “My
feet are killing me,” or “My back is killing me,” or “I am dying to eat
some cake,” or etc. Now, most people will tell me, “I don’t really
believe my feet are going to kill me.”  But then what words do you
believe? You can’t think that your words of prayer are going to be
powerful if you don’t believe most of the words you speak all day. There must be a level of consistency in your speech.
In Genesis 12 God promised Abram that he would have many children and that he would be the father of many nations. By the 17th chapter nothing had happened yet. Abram and Sarah still did not have any children. In the fifth verse of the 17th chapter God said, “Your name will no longer be Abram, but Abraham, meaning that ‘I’m making you the father of many nations” (Gen 17:5). What was God doing? He was making Abraham line up his words with his belief. He now had to go around introducing himself as Abraham (the father of many nations), even though he did not have any children
yet. Why? So his speech could be consistent with his belief. 
So what does this mean to you today? It means that there is a power that is untapped when your speech is
consistent with your belief. You must back up your words of prayer with
words of faith. You can’t pray one thing and then speak another. Contradictory speech will keep you from God’s best, but consistent speech will express your faith to God!
Confession for this day: Lord God. I speak what I believe and I believe what I speak. I untap the
power of the tongue in my life and I declare that nothing shall be
impossible for me. My consistency in belief and in speech is an outward
representation of my faith. I am consistent. I never allow my words to
contradict Your plan for my life. In Jesus’ name.
  Amen!

Leave a Reply

