Taking God Public By: IMAOLANEWS

Taking God Public
(Mat 10:32,33 NIV)
 “Whoever acknowledges me before men, I will also acknowledge him before my
Father in heaven. But whoever disowns me before men, I will disown him
before my Father in heaven.”
Matthew chapter 10. In this chapter Jesus prepared His disciples for
ministry. The instructions He gave them are still pertinent to us today. We are merely continuing what they started.
Jesus started out by giving the disciples authority to drive out evil spirits and to heal every disease and sickness (v.1). The disciples needed to know right up front that the power
available to Jesus was being made available to them. Jesus was not the
only one designated to operate in supernatural power. The disciples were to do what they saw Him do and the same applies to us today. Jesus went on to say, “I am sending you out like sheep among wolves. Therefore be
as shrewd as snakes and as innocent as doves. Be on your guard against
men; they will hand you over to the local councils and flog you in their synagogues. On my account you will be brought before governors and
kings as witnesses to them and to the Gentiles. But when they arrest
you, do not worry about what to say or how to say it. At that time you will be given what to say,
for it will not be you speaking, but the Spirit of your Father speaking
through you” (16-20). Think about that for a moment. Jesus warned
them about the impending danger for taking God public, but He then
reassured them that the same God they would be in danger for would turn
right around and protect them. One way that God would protect them would be with their words. God would give them what to say and when to say
it. The right words can get you out of many tight situations. God can grace us with the wisdom to speak the right words at the right time.
Jesus went on to explain another key point. Jesus said, “A student is not above his teacher, nor a servant above his master. It is enough for the student to be like his teacher, and the servant like his master. If the head of the house
has been called Beelzebub, how much more the members of his household!”
(24,25). What was Jesus saying? He was explaining that there is a cost
associated with being a Christian. Just like people came up against
Jesus, people will come up against us. However, this will never happen if we are too afraid to take God public. Jesus was not intimidated by others and neither should we. He spoke out, He
spoke up, and He did it as He was led. We must do the same thing. As
Born-Anew (Again) believers we have the privilege of being led of the Holy Spirit. When He leads us to say something we must never allow
fear to keep us from saying it. The same God that is leading us to speak will protect us after we release His words. We should never be afraid
of taking God public. As we continue on in the passage we see why this
is so important. Jesus said, “Whoever acknowledges me before men, I
will also acknowledge him before my Father in heaven.  But whoever
disowns me before men, I will disown him before my Father in heaven” (32,33). This is very clear and it should serve as an eye-opener for many.  If you refuse to acknowledge God in front of others, then Jesus will refuse to acknowledge you before the Father. 
So what does this mean to you today? It means that there is no space in the Body of Christ for undercover
Christians. God has given you His Spirit and His Spirit lives inside of
you to lead you and to guide you. He will tell you what to say and
when to say it; but if you refuse to take God public before others Jesus will refuse to take you public before the Father. 
Confession for this day:  Lord God, I am not ashamed of You, nor am I ashamed of what You have
done in my life.  As you tell me what to say, I will say it.  I will
take you public as I am led.  I will not allow fear to keep me from
acknowledging You and I will not give you any reason to ever fail to
acknowledge me.  I take You public, Lord, with my words. 
In Jesus’ name.
  Amen!

Leave a Reply

