SPEAKING THE SOLUTION BY FAITH. By: IMAOLANEWS

 
Speaking the Solution – By Faith
After Saul gave David the green light to face Goliath he attempted to dress David in his own tunic, coat of armour, and bronze helmet. David put on all the gear and could barely move. He told Saul, “I cannot go in these, because I am not used to them.” He took them all off. He decided to go with what he knew. Even at a young age David knew that you must enter into battle with weapons that you are comfortable with. If you have no confidence in your weapons, then you will not have confidence in the fight. Let me pause here long enough to say that many believers don’t have any confidence against satan because they are not comfortable with their weapons (the Word of God and the Holy Spirit). If you are not comfortable with your understanding of the Word of God and your relationship with the Holy Spirit then you will never be confident when attacks come your way. The good news is that you can change it by spending more time in the Word and with the Holy Spirit in prayer and study.
Getting back to the story, David walked over to a nearby stream and picked up five smooth stones. He took the stones, his shepherd’s staff, and a sling and he was ready for the battle. He had weapons he was comfortable with and a God he had confidence in. Goliath was angry when he saw David and realized that he was just a boy. He said, “Am I a dog, that you come at me with sticks?” Goliath went on to attempt to curse David by his gods, but he did not know that David was anointed by the only one true God. No curse, hex, vex, or spell can work against the Holy Spirit. Goliath said, “Come here, and I’ll give your flesh to the birds of the air and the beasts of the field!” This is where David started talking. Pay close attention to what he said and how confident he said it. David declared, “You come against me with sword and spear and javelin, but I come against you in the name of the Lord Almighty, the God of the armies of Israel, whom you have defied. This day the Lord will hand you over to me, and I’ll strike you down and cut off your head. Today I will give the carcasses of the Philistine army to the birds of the air and the beasts of the earth, and the whole world will know that there is a God in Israel. All those gathered here will know that it is not by sword or spear that the Lord saves; for the battle is the Lord’s, and he will give all of you into our hands”(1 Samuel 17:45-47). 
I will stop there for today and highlight a few things David said, BEFORE he did anything:
1.  David stated his purpose: He was there because Goliath had defied the God of Israel.
2.  David stated the Lord’s part: He said that the Lord would have Goliath over to him.
3.  David stated his part: He said that he would strike him down and then cut off his head. God has a part and we have a part. Faith requires action. What David said is interesting, because David did not have a sword. We will see tomorrow how he did it.
4.  David stated his expected end: David wanted the whole world to know that there is a God in Israel and that the battles that God’s people face are the Lord’s battles.
So what does this mean to you today? It means that we serve a God that declares what is going to happen before it happens and we have many examples in scripture of God’s people doing the same. Do you go around speaking the problem or do you have the faith to declare the solution, before it happens? When you go around speaking like David did, you cross what I call the “faith-line.” You know you have to rely on God to bring it to pass. Speaking the problem is not going to change anything. Speak the solution – by faith!
Confession for this day: Lord God, the eyes of my understanding are being enlightened concerning the words of my mouth. I see how important it is to speak life and not death.  I see in Your Word that You spoke the solution and not the problem; and I see that Your people did the same. I will follow that pattern, I will cross the faith-line, and I will speak what I desire to happen, not just what I see. My confidence is in You. The battle is Yours. I do my part and I know You will do Yours.  I am not shaken when I face my giants. 

In Jesus’ name.
  Amen!

Leave a Reply

