HYMNS SONG By:GCF

Psalms, Hymns, And Spiritual Songs

The GCF Songbook
Revised ( June, 1999

Graduate Christian Fellowship
at The Johns Hopkins University

1All Hail The Power Of Jesus’ Name

All hail the power of Jesus’ name! Let angels prostrate fall!
Bring forth the royal diadem, and crown Him Lord of all! [twice]

Ye chosen seed of Israel’s race, ye ransomed from the fall,
Hail Him Who saves you by His grace, and crown Him Lord of all! [twice]

Let every kindred, every tribe on this terrestrial ball
To Him all majesty ascribe, and crown Him Lord of all! [twice]

O, that with yonder sacred throng we at His feet may fall!
We’ll join the everlasting song and crown Him Lord of all! [twice]

2All Heaven Declares (Acts 7:55-56)

All heaven declares the glory of the risen Lord.
Who can compare with the beauty of the Lord?

[chorus]
Forever He will be [Forever He will be]
The Lamb upon the throne. [The Lamb upon the throne.]
I gladly bow my knee [I bow my knee]
And worship Him alone.

I will proclaim the glory of the risen Lord,
Who once was slain to reconcile man to God.

3Amazing Grace

Amazing grace! How sweet the sound
That saved a wretch like me.
I once was lost, but now am found;
Was blind, but now I see.

‘Twas grace that taught my heart to fear,
And grace my fears relieved.
How precious did that grace appear
The hour I first believed.

The Lord hath promised good to me.
His word my hope secures.
He will my shield and portion be
As long as life endures.

Through many dangers, toils, and snares
I have already come.
‘Tis grace hath brought me safe thus far,
And grace will lead me home.
This earth will soon dissolve like snow,
And sun forbear to shine,
But God Who called me here below
Will be forever mine.

Yes, when this flesh and heart shall fail,
And mortal life shall cease,
I shall possess within the veil
A life of joy and peace.

When we’ve been there ten thousand years,
Bright shining as the sun,
We’ve no less days to sing God’s praise
Than when we’d first begun.

4Arise, Shine (Isaiah 60:1-3)

Arise, shine for your Light has come,
And the glory of the Lord has risen upon you!
[twice]
For behold, darkness shall cover the earth,
And thick darkness the peoples,
But the Lord will arise upon you,
And His glory will be seen upon you!
And nations shall come to your Light,
And kings to the brightness of your rising.
Arise, shine for your Light has come,
And the glory of the Lord has risen!

5As The Deer (Psalm 42:1)

As the deer panteth for the waters,
So my soul longeth after You.
You alone are my heart’s desire,
And I long to worship You.
You alone are my strength, my shield.
To You alone may my spirit yield.
You alone are my heart’s desire,
And I long to worship You.
You’re my friend, and You are my brother
Even though You are a king.
I love You more than any other,
So much more than anything.

6As We Gather / The Steadfast Love Of The Lord (Lamentations 3:22-23)

As we gather, may Your Spirit work within us.
As we gather, may we glorify Your name,
Knowing well that, as our hearts begin to worship,
We’ll be blessed because we came, O Lord.
We’ll be blessed because we came.

The steadfast love of the Lord never ceases.
His mercies never come to an end.
They are new every morning, new every morning.
Great is Thy faithfulness, O Lord.
Great is Thy faithfulness.

7Ascribe To The Lord (Psalm 29:1-2)

Ascribe to the Lord, O mighty ones,
Ascribe to the Lord glory and strength.
Ascribe to the Lord the glory due His name.
Worship the Lord in the beauty of His holiness.

Come and sing praises to the Rock of all ages.
Come and sing praises to Jesus, my Lord.
Come and adore Him. Bow down before Him.
Come and sing praises to Jesus, our Lord.

8Awake, O Israel

Awake, O Israel! Put forth thy slumber,
For the truth shall set thee free,
For out of Zion comes thy Deliverer
In the year of Jubilee!

[chorus]
Sing hallelujah! Sing hallelujah!
Hallelujah! Praise the Lord!
[twice]

Thou art my chosen, for I have promised.
Thou art graven on my hand,
And I will gather all those that scatter
And return them to their land.
For in the furnace of much affliction
I have chosen thee, behold!
And so for iron I’ll give thee silver,
And for brass I’ll give thee gold.

9The Battle Belongs To The Lord

In heavenly armor, we’ll enter the land.
The battle belongs to the Lord!
No weapon that’s fashioned against us will stand.
The battle belongs to the Lord!

[chorus]
And we sing “Glory, honor,
Power, and strength to the Lord!”
[twice]

When the power of darkness comes in like a flood,
The battle belongs to the Lord!
He’s raised up a standard, the power of His blood.
The battle belongs to the Lord!

When your enemy presses in hard, do not fear.
The battle belongs to the Lord!
Take courage, my friend. Your redemption is near.
The battle belongs to the Lord!

10Be Exalted (Psalm 57:9-11)

I will give thanks to Thee, O Lord, among the people.
I will sing praises to Thee among the nations.
For Thy steadfast love is great, is great to the heavens,
And Thy faithfulness, Thy faithfulness to the clouds.

Be exalted, O God, above the heavens.
Let Thy glory be over all the earth.
[twice]

11Be Glorified

In my life, Lord,
Be glorified. Be glorified!
In my life, Lord,
Be glorified today!

In our prayers…
In our thoughts…
In our work…
In our songs…
In our group…
In Your Church…

12Be Gracious To Me, O God (Psalm 57:1-2)

Be gracious to me, O God. Be gracious unto me,
For my soul takes refuge, takes refuge in Thee.
Under the shado

Leave a Reply

