THE BIRTH OF MOSES-I: By Imaolanews

The Birth of Moses-I
No weapon formed against us shall prosper!
(Ex 1:22)
Until finally, the king gave a command to everyone in the nation, “As soon as a Hebrewboy is born, throw him into the Nile River! But you can let the girls
live.”
This morning we continue our series on the ‘Greatest Stories Ever Told’ with the story of the birth of Moses. Exodus 1 opens with Joseph and his brothers
(the leaders of the 12 tribes) dying off and their generation with them. The Israelites
were growing increasingly in number by this point, but they were still living
in Egypt. A few years later a new king (Pharoah) took over that did not know
what Joseph had done for Egypt and did not have any regard for the Hebrews. He
was afraid that they would revolt if they kept growing, so he commanded that
they become slaves in Egypt; hence the prophecy of a four hundred year
enslavement began (Gen 15:13). But even with mistreatment and terrible
conditions, the Israelites kept growing. Finally, the king called for the
midwives that helped the Hebrew women give birth (Shiphrah and Puah). He told
them to continue to assist the women in child bearing, but to immediately kill
every male baby born of a Hebrew woman. The two women were faithful to God and
did not kill the boys. The king called them in again and asked, “Why are
you letting those baby boys live?” They answered, “Hebrew women have
their babies much quicker than Egyptian women. By the time we arrive, their
babies are already born.” That was a weak excuse, but the king let them slide
and the Hebrews kept increasing. Finally, the king gave a command to everyone
in the nation to throw every male born Hebrew child into the Nile river, but to
let the girls live. Chapter 2 opens with the birth of Moses to two Levitical
parents. We will continue this story tomorrow.
So what does this mean to you today? A few things:
1. People can forget about you, but
God never will – the new Egyptian king did not know anything about what
Joseph had done for Egypt, but God still honoured His people. Likewise, people
may attempt to disregard, dismiss, or discount everything you have done; but
God will never forget your labour of love (Heb 6:10) and how you have submitted
to Him, to be used for His glory. You labour is not in vain, in the Lord (1 Cor
15:58). So keep moving forward and know that God is still God.
2. God is faithful to His people – the new Egyptian king tried and tried to slow down the growth of the Hebrew
nation, but the faithfulness of God outweighed the attacks of men. The Hebrew
writer made it clear when he proclaimed, “The Lord helps me! Why should I
be afraid of what people can do to me?” (Heb 13:6). Once we know that God
is with us, in us, on us, and for us; we can face any enemy, obstacle,
hindrance, and challenge head on! Forward ever, backward never! God is faithful
to His people.
3. God can turn the attack of the
enemy on him – it is interesting to know that the Egyptian king ordered
every male Hebrew boy to be thrown into the Nile river to die, because we will
see tomorrow that it was this same Nile river that became the vehicle by which
Moses was delivered from death. Often times, God uses the same weapon that
satan uses to attempt to destroy us, for our good. So no matter weapon is
formed against you today, rest assured that God is still in control and that He
can turn the same thing that was meant to destroy you, into the blessing that
you need for your breakthrough.
Confession for this day: Lord God.
I stand in Your peace and Your power this morning. I rest in the fact that You
will never leave me, nor forsake me. You will never forget my labour of love
and I know that my labour, for You, is not in vain. You are faithful to Your
people and I am one of Yours. I am Your
child and I declare that I walk in Your favour this morning. Your favour goes
before me and establishes a table for me in the presence of my enemies. You
turn every attack of my enemies against them. Everything works together for my
good. I am victorious in every area of my life.
I am in the head and not the tail. Above only and not beneath. I am the
conqueror and not the conquered.
Jesus’ name.
Amen!

Leave a Reply

