President Muhammadu Buhari has appointed
a Presidential Advisory Committee against
Corruption headed by Professor Itse Sagay, a
prominent professor of law and civil rights
The Committee’s brief is to advise the present
administration on the prosecution of the war
against corruption and the implementation of
required reforms in Nigeria’s criminal justice
Other members of the Committee which is also
expected to develop comprehensive
interventions for achieving recommended
reforms are:
(i) Prof. Femi Odekunle
Professor of Criminology, Ahmadu Bello
– Member
(ii) Dr. (Mrs) Benedicta Daudu
Associate Professor of International Law,
University of Jos
– Member
(iii) Prof. E. Alemika
Professor of Sociology, University of Jos
– Member
(iv) Professor Sadiq Radda
Professor of Criminology, Bayero University,
– Member
(v) Hadiza Bala Usman
Civil Society Activist
– Member
(vi) Professor Bolaji Owasanoye
Nigerian Institute of Advanced Legal Studies
Member/Executive Secretary of the Committee
In support of the Federal Government’s efforts,
an Anti-Corruption and Criminal Justice
Reform Fund has been established by three
international development partners namely the
Ford Foundation, MacArthur Foundation and
Open Society Foundation.
The $5 million fund is to assist
implementation of key components of the
Action Plan and the work of the Presidential
Advisory Committee.
The fund will be managed by Trust Africa, an
international development Civil Society
Organisation with programme presence in
more than 25 African countries.
Femi Adesina
Special Adviser to the President
(Media and Publicity)


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s