Jairus and his Daughter – Part II

(Mark 5:23 )  And besought him greatly, saying, My little daughter lieth at the point of death: I pray thee, come and lay thy hands on her, that she may be healed; and she shall live.

This morning we continue our series entitled, “Overcoming your Fear” by continuing with the story of Jairus and his daughter. This story is very important for parents. Here we have a man that clearly loved his daughter. He loved her enough to lay his reputation and his associations on the line. The only thing he was concerned with was his daughter’s well-being. These messages are not just ‘cute devotionals’ for you to read before you start your day, they are life lessons from God’s life book. The Bible is not a textbook to study, but rather a life book to live. Jairus had to overcome the fear of oppression/rejection from the priests and judgment from the crowd. He overcame it all because he needed a breakthrough for his daughter. He broke through the crowd, fell at the feet of Jesus (in front of everyone), and the Bible says that he “Besought Jesus greatly.” He was speaking from his heart. I was not there, but I am sure his sincerity was written all over his face. Jairus, in this lowly and sincere state, made a declaration of faith. Jairus said, “My little daughter lieth at the point of death: I pray thee, come and lay thy hands on her, that she may be healed; and she shall live.”  

So what does this mean to you today? Let’s see:

1.  He spoke the language of faith: Faith has a language, just as much as fear has one. Faith declares what you believe God will do, fear doesn’t. Jairus did not speak like a defeated man; he spoke like a believing man. Faith speaks from belief, fear speaks from doubt. As men and women of God we must be very careful to speak faith and not fear over our lives and over the lives of our families. The power of death and life is in our tongue (Prov 18:21).

2.  He did not omit the facts: Being a person of faith and seeking to speak faith and not fear does not mean that you have to omit the facts. His daughter was clearly sick and she was clearly at the point of death. You and I are to live by faith, but that does not mean that we cannot accept the gravity/reality of the situations that face us. In many cases it is the reality of the situations that drive us to faith in God. 

3.  He did not allow the facts to override his faith: Immediately after stating the facts, Jairus spoke words of faith. He declared, with his own lips, that his daughter would be healed and she would live through hands of Jesus. The truth (God and His Word) is greater than facts.

4.  He combined his words with belief: Jairus did what you and I did when we became Christians. He confessed with his mouth and believed in his heart (Rom 10:9,10). Speaking words without belief does nothing. When you close out these messages with the “Confession for this day,” it is my prayer that you believe what you just read and that you speak the confession with your lips and your heart. That way, your confessing and believing with bring about a change to your day and your life.

5.  His words and his belief moved Jesus to action: Will your words get God to move in your life? You cannot fool God with empty words; but you can ignite God to action with faith-filled words. Most people don’t realize it, but I hear Christians speak the language of fear more than the language of faith. They say things like: “My feet are killing me,” “I will have ???, because everyone in my family has it,” “I am not going to make it,” “This has always been a problem for me,” “I am just not good at ???,” and the list could go on and on.  Words like those will never get God to move in your life. God is looking for faith, not fear; belief, not doubt. What language do you speak all day: fear or faith? Either way, you will have what you say!

Confession for this day: Lord God, I am earnest in my approach to You this morning. I confess with my mouth that You my God and that You are greater than any problem I may face. You are the only true God and You are the greatest force in my life. I also believe in my heart that what I just confessed is true. My words line up with my belief. I release You Lord now to move in my life and to bring my family victory and peace this day and this week. 

In Jesus’ name.
  Amen!

Leave a Reply

