Your Faith will be Tested

Your Faith will be Tested

Your Faith will be Tested

(2nd Corinthians 5:7 )  For we walk by faith, not by sight.

This morning we continue our series entitled, “Overcoming your Fear.” If anyone should know that the Word will be tested in our lives I should. James said, “The trying of your faith develops patience” (James 1:3). The word there for patience literally means: the force of consistency. I have stated many times that the only fight that we fight as believers is the fight of faith (1 Tim 6:12). Paul taught us that faith comes by hearing and receiving the Word of God (Rom 10:17). In other words, the more Word we have on a given area, the more our faith will be developed in that area; and we should expect our faith to be tested. The enemy will do everything he can to get us to abort our faith, to cause us to doubt, and to lead us to fear. I know this first hand. My faith was tested when I taught on patience, on faith, on the power of your words, and etc. So I guess I should have expected my faith to be tested in the area of fear when I began this series. Sure enough, I have had several things happen in my life, since this series began, that have caused me to choose either faith or fear. I have had to remind myself time and time again that I am a person of faith and not fear; and that fear has no power over me.

There are many things that are being planned in ministry over the next few years. And there are such things that I did not want this to happen before this and that etc. and I was really concerned about these. After some time I find that the same very things that I was concerned not to happen; happened. It really effected me for some time , until I casted the “care of it” over to the Lord (1st Peter 5:7). 

In our text for this morning Paul said that we, as believers, “Walk by faith, not by sight.” What does that mean? It means that circumstances change. Things can go from good to bad in a matter of seconds, but our life, hope, and faith cannot be subject to the whims of this world. The fact that something changed from good to bad proves that it can change. Just like it changed from good to bad, it can change back from bad to good, and the way God works, He normally changes it from bad to better-than-good. The point is that things may change, but our faith must remain the same. Sure, we might have lapses in our faith, like I did for some instances in the past; we must make every effort to get back on track as quickly as possible.

 If we don’t, fear will grip our heart and we will never make it back to the realm of faith. 

David said, “Commit thy way unto the Lord; trust also in him; and he shall bring it to pass” (Psalm 37:5 ). You can’t trust and fear at the same time. Paul was facing prison if he went back to Jerusalem, but the Holy Spirit was leading him back there. Paul decided to be obedient to God and to go where God told him to go and to do what God told him to do. As it relates to the impending imprisonment, Paul said, “None of these things move me” (Acts 20:24).

So what does this mean to you today?  It simply means that you must have a “None of these things move me” attitude when it comes to God. Walk by faith. Don’t make permanent decisions based upon temporary circumstances. Trust God and He shall bring it to pass!

Confession for this day: Lord God, I trust You will all my heart. I cast my care upon You, because I know that You care for me. I will not be moved by circumstances. Life is full of ups and downs, but I will not allow my internal condition to me moved by the constant variations in external circumstances. I walk by faith and not by everything I see.  I commit my way unto You, I trust You, and I know that You will bring to pass Your best for my life.

In Jesus’ name.
  Amen!

Leave a Reply

