PATRICE EVRA’S TOP 10 QUOTES

As well as being a world-class left-back,
Patrice Evra was a infectiously passionate
talker who produced many memorable quotes
in his interviews, press conferences and media
commitments throughout a decorated
Manchester United career. On the 10th
anniversary of him joining the Reds, on 10
January 2006, Mark Froggatt presents 10 of
his best…
FINDING HIS HOME AT UNITED
“From the moment I arrived here it felt like it
was my destiny, because it was only when I
became a United player that I found my true
identity. This place suited my character. The
people here were on my wavelength and I was
able to be me.”
PLAYING WITH UNITED LEGENDS
“When I arrived here people asked me what
excited me most. I said it was not training
with Ronaldo and Rooney but players like
Giggs and Scholes.”
THE ATTITUDE NEEDED AT OLD TRAFFORD
“To play for Manchester United demands huge
sacrifices. This is a club of hard workers. You
are there to work hard, there are no glass
jewels or trinkets here. At United you are
carrying the weight of the club’s history. You
become a Red Devil when you have fully
understood that.”
LEARNING THE CLUB’S HISTORY
“The DVDs I bought were about the Munich
disaster and the Busby Babes, about Bobby
Charlton, George Best and Denis Law, about
Cantona. It was the whole story of the club.
You meet these people around the club and I
wanted to know who they were, what they had
done for the club, out of respect. When you
shake the hand of Sir Bobby, you can feel the
legend.”
KNOCKING ARSENAL OUT OF EUROPE IN 2009
“It was 11 men against 11 babies. We never
doubted ourselves. We have much more
experience and that’s what made the
difference. We were always confident. It should
have been that score [3-1] in the first leg
anyway. It is a great United team that won.”
EVRA DIDN’T NEED REST
“I always say to myself that I am lucky to play
a lot of games and until I can’t run, I will ask
the boss to play. If he thinks I need to rest
then I will have a rest but I just want to keep
going and I will rest when I retire – that’s the
name of my game.”
PAYING TRIBUTE TO JI-SUNG PARK
“He’s like the David Beckham of Korea. They
shake, they cry, they scream when they see
him. It’s amazing.”
AFTER SCORING AT BAYERN IN 2013
“I always pray before games to save my
family, I even sometimes pray for my enemy.
But I asked, ‘Can I give something for the
Busby Babes’. I didn’t say a goal, but just to
make sure we played for them in that game.
That’s why when I scored that goal, you can
see I was really emotional, I was angry. I
couldn’t believe it.”
THE TITLE OF HIS AUTOBIOGRAPHY?
“I already have a title in mind: ‘From the
street to Manchester United’.”
EVRA’S PARTING MESSAGE TO REDS
“My biggest thanks go to the fans, we have
had some fantastic times together, we lifted
all those trophies all together and that night
in Moscow will live with us all forever. Every
single time I stepped out in that shirt I knew I
was playing for the badge and for a very
special club. My passion for this club will live
on.”

Leave a Reply

